Sharoma The Clash Tokyo Riot

Tokyo Riot

All tracks, except the bonus track, recorded live at the Sun Plaza Hall, Tokyo, Japan, on 1st February, 1982. This is an edit of the full gig.

Track listing

  1. London Calling
  2. Safe European Home
  3. (White Man) In Hammersmith Palais
  4. Brand New Cadillac
  5. Charlie Don't Surf
  6. Clampdown
  7. This Is Radio Clash
  8. Armagideon Time
  9. Jimmy Jazz
  10. Tommy Gun
  11. Fujiyama Mama
  12. Police On My Back
  13. White Riot
  14. The Guns Of Brixton
  15. Train In Vain
  16. Should I Stay Or Should I Go
  17. Koka Kola / 1979 at Hammersmith Odeon [bonus track]


A show I bought off eBay for, in keeping with eBay, an overpriced amount. It's a commercial release, indeed it even sports the Columbia logo (rather dubiously), and comes in handsome artwork, styled in the fashion of the Westway documentary. The music is from the much-booted Tokyo gig from '82 which saw Clash on bad form. (Yellow Riot and Give 'Em Enough Dope also feature songs from this gig.) The sound quality okay soundboard I think, sounding a little thin, though that could be more due to the reported poor acoustics at the venue. It's not a bad show entirely, and you should see the Yellow Riot review ideally. This release has been tragically let down by the moronic inclusion of the dreaded 2 second gaps in between each songs. This doesn't help live shows and kills any flow and sounds just plain bad. I suspect it's due to laziness on the part of whoever put this CD out, and it's a great shame as the artwork is top notch. Tracks missing from Yellow Riot include Guns Of Brixton, which is okay and SISOSIG which again is okay in keeping with the performance. Not one I recommend really, except for Pearl Harbour singing her song Fujiyama Mama. She also sings Hit The Road Jack on the Up And At 'Em CD. I regret buying this.

Oh, and the bonus track is a pretty good Koka Kola with decent sound. Not sure which gig it originates from.

Rated: 4 / 10


Various typos in the track listing on the sleeve. And strangely enough, it doesn't list Radio Clash, or even any track 7.