Sharoma The Clash Buy Or Die

Buy Or Die

All tracks recorded on 29th December 1978 (tracks 18, 19 and 20 on the 28th) at the London Lyceum. Track 21, a bonus track on the boot, is the officially released Rockers Galore and not a live performance of that song.

Track listing

  1. Safe European Home
  2. I Fought The Law
  3. Jail Guitar Doors
  4. Drug-Stabbing Time
  5. Cheapskates
  6. The City Of The Dead
  7. Clash City Rockers
  8. Tommy Gun
  9. (White Man) In Hammersmith Palais
  10. English Civil War
  11. Stay Free
  12. Guns On The Roof
  13. Police & Thieves
  14. Julie's Been Working For The Drug Squad
  15. Capital Radio
  16. Janie Jones
  17. Garageland
  18. Complete Control
  19. London's Burning
  20. White Riot
  21. Rockers Galore / rare b-side [bonus track]


This is a great CD from a great show. It's packed with material and they even threw in a bonus track. The Clash perform with energy and panache here and every song is explosive. Joe is fired up as usual and the drums, bass and guitar are all clear. The quality of the sound is excellent. It's good having this show for great performances of the material from the Give 'Em Enough Rope album.

There are some good moments between songs as well. Joe does his "turn the lights off" trick and Mick even gives a small speech at one point (though I can't really tell what he's trying to say). There's also a bit of talking between songs on some occasions and a nice echoey effect - a bit like the one involving the radio against the mic - just before Police & Thieves, which itself is performed great. The band seem enthusiastic throughout this gig, and it's great hearing Topper at his peak. All in all, excellent, and live Clash at their very best.

Rated: 9 / 10


English Civil War on Clash On Broadway disc one was taken from a gig a few days later also at the Lyceum. It sounds very similar to the one here.